WhatsApp has released a new public beta that gives users more control over who may view their privacy settings such as profile photos, the last time they used the app, and their about page.
According to WABetaInfo, WhatsApp version 22.214.171.124 introduces the new “My Contacts Except” functionality for select beta testers. Aside from allowing “Everyone,” “My Contacts,” or “Nobody” to see your information, users may now specify who they don’t want to see their Profile Photo, Last Seen, or About information, while all other contacts can.
If you exclude people who use an older version of WhatsApp or don’t have the functionality enabled, they won’t be able to see your information. You won’t be able to see their last seen if you exclude specific contacts from seeing yours, thus what happens if you change your privacy settings for last seen to “Nobody”.
Also Read: WhatsApp Web Gets 3 New Long-Awaited Features
It’s possible to see the last time excluded contacts were seen, but this is a bug.
Furthermore, with this version of WhatsApp beta, the business is deleting the multi-device beta program’s opt-out option, which means users will no longer be able to exit the programme, as the company wants to make this feature one of the most essential additions coming to the app.
Multi-device support is currently available to anyone who has the latest version of WhatsApp. “The multi-device beta is an opt-in programme that provides you early access to sample a new version of WhatsApp for Web, Desktop, and Portal,” according to the business. You’ll be able to use linked companion devices without having to keep your phone connected if you join the multi-device beta.”
This is what you’ll get if you join the public beta programme:
You can use WhatsApp on up to four devices at once, but only one phone can be connected to your WhatsApp account at any given moment.
You’ll still need to add new gadgets to your phone and register your WhatsApp account. If you don’t use your phone for more than 14 days then all your linked devices will be disconnected automatically.
If you are excited about all of these features, share your thoughts in the comments below.